Prose…not tweets

Home » Uncategorized » POLITICS

POLITICS

Start here


Different men seek after happiness in different ways and by different means, and so make for themselves different modes of life and forms of government.

— Aristotle (384-322 BC)

Blessed with friends & fam from virtually every camp over the political spectrum-you are wild & passionate about representin’ the the left, right, middle, saints, sinners, tea drinkers, Starbucks groupies, agnostics, believers, the disenfranchised “least of these” and thinkers.

Fueled by your fury, the soul behind this keyboard was pumped, primed, cocked, locked and ready to rock out a blog on politics. Intoxicating ideas swirled about the importance of this election; the futility of this election and a current polarized climate that have good folks going at each other while the beast sits back and laughs–all conspired and to throw down hard to try and make sense of it all.

Man…was this gonna’ be The Mother of all Blogs.

On second thought, screw it and enjoy the songs.

A few of you have suggested shorter entries. The subject of Mittens & Barry is a good place to write the shortest blog in the history of Hurlsdom.

It’s much more edifying and hopeful to share the chords of great acoustic riffage by Mellencamp.

Been playin’ the heck out of this one to break in my new girlfriend.

Her first name is Taylor. Her last name is 816ce.

She’s so fine, I wimper in her presence…bought expensive oil to rub her back with, even better oil to caress her neck with, all with a soft cloth to buff her butt with. We cherish & love each other unconditionally. She keeps her yapper shut until we decide to experience musical intercourse and play. It’s a mutual thang. We get each other off multiple times a day.

The Americans-John Mellencamp
Capo 2nd Fret
INTRO
D Dsus4 D D Dsus4 D D Dsus4 D
D-D-D-D-G-A-D

D
I like my heroes
To be honest and strong
D               G
I wear t-shirts
And blue jeans
D
I try to understand
G			D
All the cultures of this world
Bm                   	      A	                D
I'm an American from the Midwest

D
When I speak
I have a southern drawl
D	G   		D
I mind my manners most of the time

When you come down here
G		 D
Stop and stay hello
Bm			A 			D
I'm an American from south of the Mason Dixon line

D Dsus4 D Dsus4
G			D
I'm an American, I'm an American
Bm		Asus4  A   Asus4 A
I respect you and your point of view
G			D
I'm an American, I'm an American
Bm				A
And I wish you good luck with whatever you do

(Same Chords as Intro)

I start my day
And I'm ready to work
I'm responsible
And I like to get things done
If you ever need some help
Come and look my way
'Cause I try to be here for everyone

I'm an American, I'm an American
I respect you and your point of view
I'm an American, I'm an American
And I wish you good luck with whatever you do

NOW THIS PART IS REALLY CRUCIAL! PAY ATTENTION. 
John is playing the D chord through "They call me the....",
then G on "land"...and then a fast Bm, A, D "of opportunity" 
IT'S THE COOLEST PART OF THE SONG!
The Hurls taught him that riff. True story. Really....

They call me the land...bomp, bomp...of opportunity
With our agriculture
And beautiful movie stars
We can turn our dreams
Into a way of life
So be happy and be who you are

I'm an American, I'm an American
I respect you and your point of view
I'm an American, I'm an American
And I wish you good luck with whatever you do.

OK...you get one more song played by Jackson Browne-written by "Miami" Steve Van Zandt

I was walking with my brother
And he wondered what's on my mind
I said what I believe in my soul
Ain't what I see with my eyes
And we can't turn our backs this time

I am a patriot
And I love my county
Because my country is all I know
I want to be with my family
People who understand me
I've got nowhere else to go
2 Comments

  1. Tim Hurley says:

    I just high-fived my own blog. Hahahaha Especially after the good feedback from my buddy Jim Balough.

  2. Anita says:

    Well done Tim!
    I love that you put in this song by Jackson Browne.

    Speaking of your buddy Jim’s feedback … have him put it here, so we can all enjoy. Nobody ought to ever be afraid of speaking their mind. We are all wrong, we are all right … and we are all somewhere in-between.

Leave a Reply

